Pittsburgh Underage DUI Attorney
There is probably nothing more frightening for a minor than to be pulled over by the police and charged with Underage DUI.
With a large number of traffic deaths and injuries being caused by people under the age of 21 who are driving under the influence, law enforcement agencies are maintaining strict vigilance to prevent more. They are crafting stringent laws to deal with those who drive drunk and are under Pennsylvania’s legal drinking age: 21.
The blood alcohol content standards are far more strict for people below 21 years of age than it is for adults. For those over 21, a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher results in a driving under the influence charge. For minors, that number drops to .02 percent or higher.
Underage drivers caught and convicted of driving under the influence face lost driving privileges and possible jail time. And, the amounts they pay for auto insurance will rise exponentially. If you or one of your loved ones has been charged with Underage DUI, you should immediately retain a defense attorney who has the knowledge and experience required to aggressively represent you. An Underage DUI Attorney in Pittsburgh like Sean Logue is the perfect choice.
Facts about Underage DUI in Pennsylvania
As in many states in the U. S., Pennsylvania has a “zero tolerance” policy in regards to underage drinking and driving. If you are under the age of 21 and caught with any amount of booze in your system, you will automatically lose your driver’s license for three months.
If it is your first offense, and your blood alcohol content is .02 percent or higher, you may be sent to jail for a minimum of 48 hours, your license may be suspended for up to a year, and you may have to pay a fine of between $500 and $5,000. You will be required to go to a highway safety school that focuses on alcohol-related driving, and you may be required by the judge to go through a treatment program.
For second and third offenses, the jail sentences are longer, the fines are more expensive, and the license suspensions are longer.
Being convicted of driving under the influence will leave you with a criminal record. This record will show up on any background check that is run on you, which means that the decisions of people like college admissions officers, potential employers, or apartment owners may be affected, leading them to deny your applications.
Insurance rates go up when drivers are convicted of driving under the influence. As you are already paying higher premiums just for being under the age of 25, a DUI conviction will make them seem astronomical. It’s possible that your insurance company will drop you, refusing to insure you further, and you will have a difficult time finding someone else who will.
How Can a Pittsburgh Underage DUI Lawyer Help You?
If your son or daughter is arrested for underage DUI, you will need a lawyer to stand beside you as you travel the court system. He or she must be someone who will work hard, disprove the evidence, and help you decide on the best plan for you to follow.
If your child’s case is scheduled to be tried in an adult court, your lawyer will do his or her best to have the case moved to juvenile court.
Underage DUI charges can cause many negative consequences in the life of a young person. Sean Logue and Logue Law Group have defended, successfully, hundreds of clients over the last few years, and have always prepared a good defense for them. Don’t wait to contact an educated and dedicated Pittsburgh Criminal Lawyer from Logue Law Group. For help and a free consultation, call us at (412) 612-2210 or (412) 389-0805, or contact us online.
Do not delay in hiring an underage DUI lawyer in Pittsburgh. If you wait, it will be more difficult for your child to have a good outcome to their case.
Interested in Learning More About Minors Law in Pennsylvania?
A definition and description of laws for minors can be found in the Pennsylvania Code under Title 18, Chapter 63.