- Free Consultation: 844.PITT.DUI Tap Here to Call Us
Child Abuse in Pennsylvania
When it comes to abuse, children are considered to be the most vulnerable victims. And that is why Pennsylvania law treats this kind of abuse very seriously. However, at times, people are alleged to the violence and abuse of children. These can be false and exaggerated charges. In fact, often the attempts of discipline might be considered abuse.
This type of allegation is observed in the cases of divorce or child custody. The spouse or even someone unrelated can charge you with this type of allegation as they might falsely charge you or misinterpret any situation. If you have been charged falsely for Pittsburgh domestic violence lawyer, then you need to come to Logue Law Group, right away so that you can save yourself and your rights get protected.Child Abuse Charges in Pennsylvania
There are several laws you can be charged with depending on the situation. Take a look at the following points.
Endangering Welfare of Children, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 18 § 4304
A guardian or a parent, or the responsible supervisor of a minor who provides care, training, education, or control to the child or an employer who supervises this act of violence is charged as they knowingly put the child in danger. If the responsible person is in an official capacity and they interfere or prevent the abuse to be reported, they can be charged with the same offense. This is classified to be a first degree misdemeanor but can become third degree felony depending on the course of conduct and how the child is facing the danger of abuse.Simple Assault, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 18 § 2701
If someone above 18 years puts a child of 12 years old or below that under the threat of bodily injury then they will be charged with this. This offense also includes using deadly weapons or attempting bodily injury that has made the child fearful about their safety.Aggravated Assault, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 18 § 2702
This is considered to be a second degree felony where a person above 18 years recklessly, knowingly and intentionally puts the child, less than 13 years, in danger of bodily injury. If the child is below six years, then the case becomes first degree felony.
As per Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 23 § § 6311, certain professionals are generally charged with these types of charge.
- Licensed or certified practitioners in any health related field that falls under the jurisdiction of the Department of State.
- Coroners, medical examiners or funeral director
- Employees in health care facilities that are licensed by the department of health.
- Employees from school
- Employees of child care services who are in direct contact with the child
- Clergymen, ministers, priests, rabbis, Christian science practitioner, spiritual leaders or religious healers
- Employees of social service agency
- Peace officers and law enforcement officers
- Emergency medical service providers
- Independent contractors
- Foster parents and so on
Depending on the situation and the charges, you might face the following penalties:
- First degree misdemeanor that will result in 5 years of jail time and up to $10,000 fine
- Third degree felony that will result in 7 years of jail time and up to $ 15,000 fine
- Second degree felony that might result in 10 years of jail time and $25,000 fine
- First degree felony that will mean 20 years of jail time and $25,000 fine
Consult with us at Logue Law Group. Our Pittsburgh domestic violence lawyer will help you deal with the charges while protecting your rights. Give us a call today for a free consultation.
Free ConsultationYou will never find us short of knowledge & commitment
while handling your case.