There is no doubt in the minds of any law-abiding citizen that being charged with domestic violence is a serious event. No one can take this charge lightly in the state of Pennsylvania has witnessed a great rise in the number of affected individuals for abuse. More women than men complain to 911 about such acts. Whatever the gender ratio maybe, the state has made stricter provisions against all those who commit such acts. It has been recorded that 1 in every 4 women in the USA has reported Domestic Abuse to 911. When you face such a charge what is the best course of action for you? The first is knowing all about a domestic abuse case and hiring a good Pittsburgh PFA Lawyer. This is where we at Logue Law Group, come to the rescue. We have compiled all important information related to charges and distinguished the difference between a misdemeanor and felony domestic abuse charges.What is Domestic Violence According to the State of Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania Criminal Statutes define domestic abuse as abuse meted out against people with whom you share "domestic relationships". This assault can be of any kind physical injury, assault, forced sexual activity, incest, statutory rape assault, stalking, harassment, etc. Acts of abuse meted against minor children will also be considered as domestic abuse under Pennsylvania state law.
Whenever such acts of abuse occur in families, the immediate action of all accusers is filing a PFA order. When a PFA order is issued by the court, the alleged accused will have to go zero contact with the accuser. If a PFA order is broken it will result in penalties and jail time for the accused. It is always best to take the advice of a Pittsburgh Domestic Violence Lawyer in these cases. Domestic Abuse cases embrace both felonies and misdemeanors. It is a broad spectrum but we have included the most important information through this article.What Are the Penalties for Misdemeanor and Felony Crimes?
- When you are charged with a first-degree misdemeanor, you can face up to five years in jail and a $10000 penalty.
- You can face up to two years in jail with a $5000 penalty with a Second-degree misdemeanor.
- When a third-degree misdemeanor is filed against you, the penalties will include a year in prison with a $2500 penalty.
- For a first-degree felony, you can be charged with 20 years in jail and a $25,000 penalty.
- If you are facing a second-degree felony, you can be charged with 10 years in jail with a $25,000 penalty.
- With a third-degree felony, penalties can be seven years in prison with a $15,000 penalty.
A felony charge is most serious than a misdemeanor one. Judges issue this charge to the worst of domestic abuse crimes. You will need to hire a skilled Pittsburgh Domestic Violence Lawyer to help minimize the charges of this terrible offense.
Attorney Sean Logue will help you in all defense cases of domestic abuse. it is important to hire a lawyer who understands the case and who has years of experience in similar cases. he is one of the most reputable Pittsburgh PFA lawyer who successfully helps clients to minimize charges in the court. call him at (412) 612-2210 to receive help for you or your loved one.
Free ConsultationYou will never find us short of knowledge & commitment
while handling your case.