DUI Penalties

DUI Penalties in Washington - PA
Washington County DUI Penalties Lawyer

In Pittsburgh, as it is all over the U.S., the courts are harsh in their treatment of those convicted of DUI. Pittsburgh uses Pennsylvania’s three-tier system to determine the punishments for those convicted of the crime. This system gives clearly defined guidelines.

The legal blood alcohol content in Pennsylvania is below .08. If you are tested at .08, or at a higher level, you will automatically be charged with driving under the influence.

A DUI conviction can seriously impair your ability to acquire and maintain auto, health, life and disability insurance. Insurers can and do raise premiums and cancel policies in response to DUI convictions.

A Pennsylvania DUI conviction can carry serious penalties, as demonstrated below. Attorney Sean Logue and his associates can provide an aggressive and effective criminal defense, regardless of which state your arrest occurred.

Call Logue Law, in Pittsburgh or Washington, Pennsylvania, at 412-389-0805 or 1-844-PITT-DUI. Any kind of delay in contacting a reputable Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer can worsen the case.

Pennsylvania DUI Penalties
Prior DUIsPenalties - .08 to .099 percent BAC, or undetermined BACPenalties - .10 to 159 percent BACPenalties - .16 percent or greater BAC
NoneUp to six months of probation; $300 fine; alcohol highway safety school, possible substance abuse treatment.One-year license suspension; two days to six months in prison; $500-$5,000 fine; alcohol highway safety school, possible substance abuse treatment.One-year license suspension; three days to six months in prison; $1,000-$5,000 fine; alcohol highway safety school; possible substance abuse treatment.
OneOne-year license suspension; five days to six months in jail; $300-$2,500 fine; alcohol highway safety school; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.One-year license suspension; 30 days to six months in prison; $750-$5,000 fine; alcohol highway safety school; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.First-degree misdemeanor. 18-month license suspension; three months to five years in prison; $1,500-$10,000 fine; alcohol highway safety school; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.
Two or moreOne-year license suspension; 10 days to two years in prison; $500-$5,000 fine; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.First-degree misdemeanor. 18-month license suspension; three months to five years in prison; $1,500-$10,000 fine; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.First-degree misdemeanor. 18-month license suspension; one to five years in prison; $2,500-$10,000 fine; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.
Three or moreOne-year license suspension; 10 days to two years in prison; $500-$5,000 fine; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.First-degree misdemeanor. 18-month license suspension; One to five years in prison; $1,500-$10,000 fine; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.First-degree misdemeanor. 18-month license suspension; one to five years in prison; $2,500-$10,000 fine; possible substance abuse treatment; one-year ignition interlock.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

Drunk Driving Defense

For a free consultation with an effective western Pennsylvania DUI defense attorney, contact Sean Logue Law online today, or by calling 412-389-0805 or 1-844-PITT-DUI. An experienced Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer will get in touch with you and take care of your case.