Pittsburgh Underage Drinking Attorney
Underage drinking is strictly prohibited in Pennsylvania. There are instances when the police will simply show up at a party, arrest everyone there, and charge you for underage drinking. Irrespective of where you drink, it is strictly prohibited for people below the age of 21 to do it.
Law enforcement agencies and schools have become stricter to curb this menace. The first time a person is charged with underage drinking, he or she faces fines of $300 to $500; for repeat offenses, the fines are steeper—they range between $500 and $1,000. Educational institutions are also cracking down on their campuses to prevent students from consuming alcohol.
If you have been charged with underage drinking, you need to keep in mind that it is regarded as a summary offense. You will need the services of a top-rated Criminal Defense Attorney in Pittsburgh, such as those found at Logue Law Group, to avoid costly fines and other consequences, including having your driver’s license suspended.
Facts About Underage Drinking in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, any person under the age of 21 is prohibited from:
- Possessing or consuming alcohol
- Buying or trying to buy alcohol
- Intentionally and knowingly transporting alcohol
For the purposes of the law, alcohol is defined as any brewed beverage, malt beverage, or liquor that contains 0.50 percent or more alcohol by volume. Included in this are wine and beer.
If you are arrested for underage drinking, law enforcement authorities will notify your parents. If the court finds you guilty, you may lose your driver’s license for a time, and you will have to pay a fine. Jail time is a possibility, as well. Only a skilled and experienced Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Lawyer can help you out in these kinds of cases.
In Pittsburgh, underage drinking cases are heard in Municipal Courts. In the counties surrounding the city, they are heard in Magisterial District Courts.
Due to changes in the law, a person convicted of underage drinking will not find themselves with a suspended driver’s license for a first offense, but there are other punishments he or she must face:
- Underage drinking is a summary offense. A first offense comes with a $500 fine, which doubles for subsequent offenses.
- A summary offense will show on a person’s criminal record, because it counts as a criminal conviction.
- A person applying for colleges and jobs will often have to answer questions about arrests and convictions.
- Underage drinking convictions show up on background checks, and many jobs, schools, and professional licensing boards do background checks before they hire, accept, or grant a license.
How Can a Pittsburgh Underage Drinking Lawyer Help?
At the office of Logue Law Group, Sean Logue and his associates are experienced Pittsburgh criminal defense attorneys. They have defended the rights of clients involved in different types of juvenile cases that include everything from drug offenses to underage drinking. They will remain at your side throughout the process, and will commit themselves to getting the evidence against your juvenile thrown out. They will help you figure out the best way to proceed.
If your child’s case is scheduled to be tried in an adult court, your lawyer will do his or her best to have the case moved to juvenile court. Underage Drinking charges can lead to many consequences in the life of a youngster. The attorneys at Logue Law Group have successfully defended hundreds of clients over the last few years, and have always prepared a strong defense on their behalf. So, do not delay in contacting an experienced Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Lawyer at Logue Law Group.
Do not delay in hiring an underage drinking lawyer in the Pittsburgh area. If you wait, it will be more difficult for your child to have a good outcome for their case. Call (412) 612-2210 or (412) 389-0805, or contact us online. Logue Law Group serves Pittsburgh and its surrounding areas, including Ohio and West Virginia.
Want to Learn More About Minors Law in Pennsylvania?
For a definition and description of laws for minors, see the Pennsylvania Code under Title 18, Chapter 63.
Free ConsultationYou will never find us short of knowledge & commitment
while handling your case.