DUI / OUI Under 21 Years Old
In the State of Pennsylvania, only 10% of people below the age of 21 are licensed to drive. But the number of DUI incidents among this category of drivers is disproportionately higher. While driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08% leads to a DUI charge for anyone 21 and older, anyone under the age of 21 caught driving with a BAC of 0.02% will be charged with a DUI. DUI convictions are serious and will affect you well into the future, including keeping you out of certain universities and careers. If your child or someone you know has been charged with underage DUI/OUI, you should immediately contact a Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Attorney who specializes in underage DUI.
What You Need to Know
The State of Pennsylvania has a zero-tolerance policy towards underage DUI and has made stringent laws to prevent this offense and discourage drunken driving by those who are underage. Here are some things that you need to know about underage DUI:
- First offense can invite jail sentence up to 90 days and fines between $300 and $500. The license isn’t suspended for the first offense but can be suspended for 12 months if your BAC level exceeds 0.1%
- In the event of a second offense, you could be sentenced to jail for a period between 5 days and six months and also need to pay between $300 and $2500 in fines. You would also face a license suspension of 12 months
- The arresting officers can also charge you for other offenses that include minor in possession, soliciting alcohol, distributing alcohol to other minors and even possession of fake IDs that may have been used to procure alcohol
- A conviction creates a permanent criminal record, and this can increase insurance premiums and also act as a hindrance for future employment
- An underage DUI when the offender is under the age of 18 is not an expungable offense, which means it will be on his or her criminal record forever.
What You Cannot do in Pennsylvania if You are Under 21:
If you are below the legal drinking age of 21 in Pennsylvania, you are prohibited from doing the following things:
- Having alcohol in your possession
- Buying alcohol
- Attempting to purchase alcohol
- Transporting alcohol intentionally and knowingly
- Consuming alcohol
Pennsylvania defines alcohol as any malt, liquor, or brewed beverage that has an alcohol content of 0.50 percent by volume.
How can a Pittsburgh Underage DUI Attorney Help You?
I am attorney Sean Logue and specialize in DUI charges and have represented hundreds of clients over the years in underage DUI cases. My 10.0 Avvo rating is a testimony to my success as an attorney as I represent you passionately and with all integrity. As a Pennsylvania Super Attorney, I approach every case clinically and see whether any of your rights as a citizen were violated when your car was pulled over by the arresting officers. I shall have your blood samples independently examined to establish the discrepancies as per the case that has been put up by the prosecution. As an underage DUI lawyer serving the Pittsburgh area, I shall defend you strongly and ensure that the prosecution is not able to establish any other charges and discredit all the evidence presented by them in the court.
An underage DUI/OUI conviction can hurt your child’s future and also create major roadblocks in front of him/her when it comes to employment. You cannot take these charges lying down and need to prepare for a strong defense. I shall offer you all the legal aid you require and would do everything to protect his/her rights.
Come in for a free consultation with an underage DUI attorney at my Pittsburgh firm so we can discuss the underage DUI charges. Dial my number (412) 612-2210 or 412-389-0805 or get in touch with me online.
For service in the Pittsburgh area, including the counties surrounding the city, Ohio, and West Virginia, contact Logue Law Group.
Free ConsultationYou will never find us short of knowledge & commitment
while handling your case.