Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Top Rated Criminal Defense Attorney Serving Pittsburgh
If you have been involved in a car crash, the law mandates you to provide your contact and insurance information to the other driver before leaving the scene of the accident. Failure to do so is often considered as a case of ‘hit and run,’ and you can be charged for the offense. The logic behind the offense in Pennsylvania is simple: if there is nothing to hide, there can’t be a reasonable explanation that allows you to leave the scene of the accident. But if you have been charged with this serious offense, there are defense options that you need to pursue. A Pittsburgh traffic lawyer can help you protect your rights.
Important facts about leaving the scene of an accident
Pennsylvania law states that, when you are driving and are in an accident, you are required to immediately stop your vehicle, if not at the scene, then as close as you can get to it. You are also required to share certain information with the other driver, namely your vehicle registration number, your name, and your address.
Why Should I Fight These Charges?
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, you need to contest this charge as it carries severe sentences and lifelong repercussions. The penalty in hit and run cases directly depends on the severity of the offense. Let us take a look at the scenarios that result in being charged with this offense:
- If the accident has only resulted in property damage, it is considered a 3rd-degree misdemeanor. Here, you can be incarcerated for one year and be fined $2,500.
- If you leave the scene of an accident where there has been an injury, it is considered as a 3rd-degree felony. Here, you can be incarcerated for a minimum of 90 days and a maximum of 7 years. It also carries a minimum fine of $1,000.
- The consequences of leaving the scene of an accident where a death has occurred are far more serious. This is considered to be a felony offense of the 3rd degree and carries a sentence of between 90 days and 7 years. It also carries a minimum fine of $2,500.
- A conviction can also result in the suspension of your license for a long period of time, which denies you the privilege of driving a vehicle.
Given the consequences of being proven guilty, you need to immediately get in touch with a top-rated, experienced, and reputable Traffic Ticket Attorney like those at Logue Law Group in Pittsburgh. They will help you determine the best course of action in your case.
How Can We Help You?
Sean Logue and his associates have successfully defended numerous clients who have been charged in hit and run cases, and have helped them gain the most favorable outcome for their case. Even if you are proven guilty, they will use their expertise to ensure that the penalty is less harsh and that all of your rights and privileges are protected as best as possible. The Pittsburgh Attorneys at Logue Law Group bring a hands-on approach to every case. They utilize an investigative approach and will unearth all the facts related to the case to offer you the strongest possible defense.
You shouldn’t merely surrender to the charges against you. You need to fight these vehemently. Sean Logue and his associates have a proven track record of successful defenses and will help you like they have helped hundreds of clients in the past.
Criminal Lawyer From Logue Law Group
To get in touch and schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced Criminal Lawyer from Logue Law Group in Pittsburgh, contact us online, or call (412) 612-2210. Someone is available 24/7 to take your call.
Hire an attorney to represent you right away. Waiting can mean higher fines and harsher penalties than you deserve.
Serving the entire Pittsburgh area, including the counties that surround the city, and the neighboring states of Ohio and West Virginia.
Free ConsultationYou will never find us short of knowledge & commitment
while handling your case.