Revocation or Denial of Concealed Carry License
Bearing arms, also known as carrying a gun, is a basic right that all citizens of the United States have. In the interest of protecting the public, there are limits that the government has put on this right, based on a person’s age and criminal behavior. A Pittsburgh criminal defense attorney can help you learn if you are eligible for a concealed carry license.
Once you purchase a weapon, you can carry it openly (open carry) or concealed in your vehicle, purse, pocket, or on your person in a holster (concealed carry). To concealed carry legally, you must have a concealed carry license.
You must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a concealed carry license.
When you want to get your concealed carry license, you need to go to your county Sheriff’s office to apply. You must go to the one in the county in which you live. You will need one of these licenses if you wish to carry your firearm concealed or unconcealed in your vehicle, or carry it concealed on your person. Similarly to purchase application denials, denials of concealed carry licenses are dealt with via a Pennsylvania Instant Check System challenge. Keep in mind that the reasons a concealed carry license is denied or revoked are much broader than those needed to deny someone the right to own a firearm.
Pennsylvania’s Instant Check System, also referred to as PICS, is a system that is managed by the Pennsylvania State Police. It is designed to give gun suppliers instant background checks relevant to gun purchases, so they can decide if a person is eligible to buy a firearm. PICS is also used to determine if a person is eligible to obtain a concealed carry license. There are challenge forms online at this link. The form is SP4-197; it can be found at the bottom of the page. The form must be filed at the Pennsylvania State Police PICS Firearms Unit on Elmerton Avenue in Harrisburg.
Since you apply at the Sheriff’s office for a concealed carry license, it is he who makes the decision, based on your Pennsylvania Instant Check System data, to grant or deny the license. If he denies it, you have 30 days to appeal the decision. You file your appeal at the Court of Common Pleas in the county in which you live. There are certain specific steps and provisions that you are required to follow for this. Failure to do so can result in you being charged with a Summary Offense.
Sometimes, mistakes are made, and a person who is legally allowed to obtain a concealed carry license is denied.
If your concealed carry license is denied or revoked, call Pittsburgh criminal defense attorney Sean Logue and his associates immediately. They can examine the facts of your case and advise you if you have grounds to appeal the revocation or denial of your license.
Have you had a concealed carry permit application denied, or a license revoked? Do you want to appeal this denial or revocation? If so, you will require a Pittsburgh criminal defense attorney with experience in and knowledge about firearms law and PICS challenges to help you. The Logue Criminal Defense team has represented many people who have had their permits denied or revoked. Logue Law Group serves Pittsburgh, PA, West Virginia, and Ohio. Call today for a consultation: 1-844-PITT-DUI or (412) 389-0805. Or, you may contact us online.
Don’t wait to call! The challenge process for revocation or denial of a concealed carry license has very specific protocols that must be followed to the letter. If you don’t do it right, you could be charged with a Summary Offense, adding another black mark to your criminal record. Avoid making mistakes in the process by hiring a Pittsburgh criminal defense attorney who understands what must be done. Call Sean Logue today. Don’t try to go it alone. Call now!